Writing the self #3: Asian

There was almost no chance to meet other races until I came to Canada. In Korea, there are only a few of white people and black people which call as foreigners. Most of them were exchange students or workers. I was not interested to know about races and I have no clue about what is the race and what is difference among the races at that time. I just believed that they were using English and they looked like they were all from United States. They were tall, had blue or green eye colors, and tall noses. Those were all what I know about them and view of other races.

Canada is an astonishing country to me which I have not experienced before. Now I become a foreigner. When I look around there are so many white people. I go out to the mall, bank and restaurant and almost everyone are white people. Also I can see black people and Asia people but less than white people. I never seen that many of other races in reality except for television shows or movies. I feel like I am in new world and I am so glad and palpitate that I am a part of new world. Just the thought of it made my heart flutter. However this happiness does not go for long.

I am on my way back to home after my high school. It takes around 50 minutes from school to my house. The city bus is crowd and full of people who are get off from works. Some of people look exhaust and some of them are talking each other. I am sitting on the seat and soon one old lady get on the bus. There is no more seat but she looks really uncomfortable with her legs so I give my seat to her. I do not give my seat for expect to hear a nice complement but if I hear thank you, then I would feel blissfully happy. She just takes my seat. Actually I do not really mind because I am young and I always learn that I have to considerate and be respect to older, disabled, and pregnant people. This is my country’s tradition. Soon I hear a bad word that sounds like aims me. A white teenager said, “ There are so many fxxxing Asians. They are in everywhere”. Some people are glance at me. I do not know why I feel guilty and ashamed of my race. I am so embarrassed. It seems as if everything in the world must stop and I really want to get off the bus. I always proud of my country, my race, my traditions and think if I can born again I want to born in my country again. I consider that “am I wrong?, Should I feel guilty to leaving in Canada?”.

I like drawing a picture with a variety of colors. Using only one color to color a whole paper, it is not attractive. However, coloring with many different colors make a picture to look more harmonious and beautiful. I also love flowers and a flower garden is an example too. It looks more gorgeous when flowers have various colors such as red, blue, yellow, purple, orange, and pink. I always think flowers are just beautiful even though their types are different. No doubt they are just pretty because they are flowers. So does race. I realize that when all the different skin colors harmony each others then it looks beautiful and fantastic beyond all description. I believe that value of all humans are equal. In my mind everyone are valuable and important only differences are the skin colors.